Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 1,795 Ratings

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • Great book!!

    5
    By Sgonzales7686
    This book is utterly amazing. I read it in less than a day and enjoyed every bit of it.
  • Where the crawdads sing

    5
    By katinas reads
    Truley amazing storie. Captivating till the end.
  • Highly recommend

    5
    By Pshu102
    Great read! Touching and suspenseful.
  • Could not put this down!

    5
    By Brunetta4u
    Gut wrenching,heartbreaking, lovely, magical, brutal, suspenseful till the very end. Everything you want in a book! It transports you into the shack, the marsh, the small town...and you'll never want to leave.
  • Where The Crawdads Sing

    5
    By swooplmk
    I have never written a review before. This book will become a classic. Beyond extraordinary!
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By [Lolly]
    A definite must Read!!!
  • Couldn’t Put it Down!

    5
    By Lezavb
    This book is an amazing read...I totally exhaled it within 24hours! Would ❤️❤️❤️ to see it on the big screen as it is an enchanting BIG story!
  • Brilliant & Beautiful

    5
    By Jkjr1961
    I can’t stop thinking about this book days after finishing it. I felt like I was there & hated to see it end. Brilliant author!!
  • Very well written

    5
    By sadlyit
    This book has become one of my favorite. Owens crisp prose seems more poetry than not. I would read for the writing alone. “The marsh did not confine them but defined them and, like any sacred ground, kept their secrets deep.”
  • I could NOT put this book down

    5
    By Texmarvic
    I haven’t felt pulled into a book like this in a long time. I didn’t want it to end! I could relate to the Marsh Girl and her love for the marsh and all living things in it. Beautiful! Very moving. I even cried while reading it and I don’t cry easily.

Comments