Nocturne for a Widow - Amanda DeWees

Nocturne for a Widow

By Amanda DeWees

  • Release Date: 2014-11-27
  • Genre: Cozy
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 79 Ratings

Description

The ghost may be the least of her problems... Vivacious actress Sybil Ingram looks forward to a life of security when she leaves the theater in 1873 to marry a wealthy American. But when he dies on their wedding night, she finds herself a penniless widow. Her only legacy is Brooke House, a Gothic revival manor in the wilds of the Hudson River Valley. However, the eerie mansion comes with two tenants. One is a hostile ghost. The second, and far worse, is former violinist Roderick Brooke--the most insolent, dangerous, maddeningly gorgeous man she's ever met. 

As Sybil and Roderick engage in a battle of wills--and wits--an even greater threat arises: the mysterious queen of local society, Mrs. Lavinia Dove. For reasons that Sybil can't imagine, Mrs. Dove is determined to have Brooke House and Roderick for herself... if necessary, by deadly means.

Nocturne for a Widow is a brilliant fusion of cozy mystery, romantic suspense, and romantic comedy, perfect for readers who love Victorian women sleuths like Anna Lee Huber's Lady Darby, Penny Richards's Lilly Long, Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey, and Elizabeth Peters's Amelia Peabody. And be sure to explore Sybil's continuing adventures in The Last Serenade, book 2 in the Sybil Ingram Victorian Mysteries series, now available.

Reviews

  • Nocturne for a Widow

    4
    By Plonk'r
    Interesting reading as the principal character of the book is a woman that is modern beyond society and the age she was born to. It was a long read and was unbelievable in some areas but it is still enjoyable.
  • Nocturne for s Widow

    5
    By TexasLizzie
    Really enjoyed this book from start to finish. The characters were intriguing and plot well thought out. I call books like this "popcorn books" as I can't stop reading them like I can't stop eating a bag of popcorn! Congrats on writing a yummy book and thank you for sharing with us.
  • Nocturne for a Widow

    5
    By greatbigdog
    Great fun reading.
  • Nocturne for a Widow

    4
    By PushpushStable
    In the style of the authors of my girlhood, this well written novel is at once an excellent read and a enjoyable mystery.
  • Another Brilliant Gothic

    5
    By peytms
    Amanda DeWees has written another brilliant gothic romance. I want Sybil Ingram as my new best friend. I love this lady. This is not the typical innocent, naive girl you'd expect to find in this genre, which adds an entertaining fish-out-of-water aspect to the story. She's a smart, strong, sassy heroine, not the type to faint at ghostly visitations or let some snooty witch show her up or steal her man (whether she wants the man in question or not). The antagonism between Sybil and Roderick in their battle over who inherits the dark and probably haunted manor house that is the setting adds some great humor and fun to the romance that eventually develops. DeWees has such a talent for writing appealing, realistic characters (in addition to the interesting settings and thrilling plots). Every time I read one, I just want to go back and reread them all. This (though I say it every time one of her gothics comes out) is probably my favorite book that she has written yet. And I'm SO EXCITED that it's going to be a series!
  • Perfect for fans of Gothic Romances

    5
    By DandMCrockett
    If you love Gothic Romance, then you’re in for a treat! Nocturne for a Widow has the best elements of a gothic, with twists and turns and spooky moments that will delight you. But it also has comedy and a cast of entertaining secondary characters. One of my favorite aspects of this book is the heroine. Instead of being a naïve, simpering, sheltered young woman with “Don’t go in there!” moments, Sybil Ingram is smart and sassy and determined to have things her way. The hero isn’t shabby, either. Roderick Brooke is a world-class musician whose gift has been quelled by a traumatic injury. The way the two of them spar will keep you turning the pages. With ghosts and a séance and a surprising villain, Nocturne for a Widow is a can’t-miss read for fans of Gothics. Miss DeWeese may very well be the next Daphne du Maurier.

Comments